David Fink and Alex Franklin

Fink, Franklin Prepared For NCAA Regionals

Photo By: Dave Nishitani/Oregon State Athletics   05-14-2014

Follow BeaversMGolf on Twitter

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Oregon State’s lefties -- senior David Fink and junior Alex Franklin -- are ready for the NCAA Regionals when they compete as individuals Thursday through Saturday at the Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore.

The first two rounds on Thursday and Friday will begin at 8 a.m. and the final round on Saturday will start at 7:30 a.m. at the par-70, 6,990-yard Eugene Country Club. The low individual, who isn’t on one of the five top teams in the 13-team field, will advance to the NCAA Championships at the Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan., which will be held Friday, May 23 to Wednesday, May 28.

Franklin will tee off at 9:50 a.m. in the first round on Thursday and be paired with Julian Woodfork of Northern Colorado and Frederick Wedel of Pepperdine, while Fink will start at 10:23 a.m. and play with Northern Colorado’s Ben Krueger and Sacramento State’s Owen Taylor.

Live scoring is available at golfstat.com.

The Oregon State men’s golf team narrowly missed out on advancing to the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship for the first time in eight years, so Fink and Franklin will represent the Beavers in postseason competition this year.

“Only one of them has the opportunity to advance to the National Championship, and without the team there with them, they have nothing to lose,” Oregon State head coach Jon Reehoorn said. “They simply need to be ready to go from the beginning on Thursday and play to win.”

Fink led Oregon State this season with a scoring average of 72.65, while Franklin was second at 73.00. Fink, who has been with the Beavers for five years, fired 15 sub-par rounds this past season, including a career-best 6-under 66, and finished second at the Alister MacKenzie Invitational. Franklin, who joined Oregon State this past fall, shot seven under-par rounds, including a 5-under 67, and posted a career-best seventh-place finish at the Mark Simpson Invitational.

As a team, the Beavers had another successful season with five top-5 finishes, including winning the team title at the Duck Invitational in Eugene in late March. Individually, Fink earned All-Pac-12 Second Team honors for the second straight year and Kevin Murphy was named All-Pac-12 Freshman Honorable Mention.


1. Cody Blick, San Jose State
2. Kyle Westmoreland, Air Force
3. David Fink, Oregon State
4. Owen Taylor, Sacramento State
5. Byron Meth, Pacific
6. Tyler Torano, Loyola Marymount
7. Cory McElyea, San Francisco
8. Pete Fernandez, California Irvine
9. Alex Franklin, Oregon State
10. Frederick Wedel, Pepperdine

1. Stanford
2. Houston
3. Oklahoma
4. South Carolina
5. Baylor
6. Liberty
7. Oregon
8. Tennessee
9. North Florida
10. East Tennessee State
11. Chattanooga
12. Wichita State
13. Northern Colorado