Men's Rowing Sends Five Boats to Opening Day

Photo By: Scobel Wiggins/Oregon State Athletics   05-02-2014

Related Links

Follow Oregon State Rowing on Twitter

Corvallis, Ore. – The Oregon State men’s rowing team sends its Junior Varsity 8, Varsity 4, and Freshmen 8 crews to the Opening Day Regatta in Seattle, Wash.

The Opening Day Regatta is one of the many events celebrating the official opening of Seattle’s boating season, sponsored by the Seattle Yacht Club. The last five seasons, the Beavs have raced in the Windermere Cup in Seattle, and are therefore familiar with the water conditions this time of year.

With the Rowing Pac-12 Championships just around the corner, Head Coach Steve Todd sees this as an opportunity to finalize his lineups and create the best and most successful combinations. Oregon State will be racing five crews come Saturday, but the Varsity 8 will not be competing.

The Beavs will feature their Junior Varsity 8, Varsity 4 A and B squad, and two Freshman 8 crews.

“This weekend is really a preparation for the Pac-12 Championships in terms of the fours,” said Todd. “We are hoping to solidify our A and B crew because we can only send our top Varsity-4 boat to Pac-12s.”

The JV8 and both Freshman 8 crews are looking to improve on their times in training for the Pac-12 Championships as well.

“This is a good opportunity for the JV and the freshman crews to get in another competitive race,” Todd said. “We have been working for the past two weeks and have seen some good improvement.”

The Opening Day Regatta kicks off on Saturday, May 3 in Seattle Washington. For results and times, check and

C Ben Augeri
8 Dominic DeCarlo
7 Will Gangmark-Strickland
6 Chris Gannon
5 Andrew Satterlee
4 Alec Martin
3 Aidan Daly-Jensen
2 Taylor Heen
1 Dylan Nelson

V4 A
C Joshua Moultrie
4 Nick Aerne
3 Jake Lunter
2 Jordan Zielinski
1 Leo Koerner

V4 B
C Zach Moffitt
4 Jeremy Artaserse
3 Robert Toumbs
2 Quinn Murray
1 Max Cantrel

C Jacqui Logsden
8 Spencer Smith
7 Nate Smith
6 Grant Van Kampen
5 Tyler MacDonald
4 Todd Williams
3 Brett Reed
2 Torin Kingshill
1 Michael Russel

C Heather Thomas
8 Rafael Gorriaran
7 Austin Peters
6 Ezra Albright
5 Michael Jagielski
4 Grant Brownell
3 Eli Gomez
2 Leo Koerner
1 Sawyer Baar