David Fink

Fink, Murphy Earn All-Pac-12 Honors

Photo By: Dave Nishitani/Oregon State Athletics   04-28-2014

Related Links

Follow BeaversMGolf on Twitter

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Oregon State senior golfer David Fink was selected to the All-Pac-12 Second Team for the second straight year and Kevin Murphy was named All-Pac-12 Freshman Honorable Mention, as selected by a vote of the conference coaches.

Fink in having another sensational season as he leads the Beavers with a scoring average of 72.65 after posting a 71.47 last season. He has three top-10 finishes this season, including second at the Alister MacKenzie Invitational and fourth at the Amer Ari Invitational.

The Kailua, Hawai'i native has fired 15 sub-par rounds this season, including a career-best 6-under 66 at the Amer Ari Invitational. He also carded a three-round career-best score with a 13-under at the Amer Ari Invitational.

Murphy has lived up to the hype in his freshman season as he has played in every tournament and posted the third-best scoring average on the team with a 73.11. The Rogue River, Ore., native shot nine under-par rounds, including a season-best 3-under 69 two times, and two top-10 finishes with a tie for third at the Duck Invitational and seventh at the Mark Simpson Invitational.

He is the first Oregon State freshman to receive All-Pac-12 recognition since 1999 when John Lepak was named the conference’s Freshman of the Year.

Oregon State will find out next Monday if it advances to postseason play for the eighth consecutive year. The 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships selections will be announced live via the Golf Channel on Monday, May 5 at 7 a.m. Additionally, the show will be streamed live on the Golf Channel website and posted afterwards on the NCAA website at www.ncaa.com.

Fink is just the 12th Oregon State golfer to earn All-Pac-12 First Team or Second Team honors and marks the 23rd time a Beaver has received all-conference recognition.

Oregon State All-Pac-12 Selections
1989 -- Warren Vickers - 2nd team
1994 -- Charles Kingsbaker - 2nd team
1995 -- Charles Kingsbaker - 2nd team
1996 -- Birk Nelson - 1st team
1997 -- Charles Kingsbaker - 2nd team
1999 -- John Lepak - 1st team
2000 -- John Lepak - 2nd team
2000 -- Anthony Arvidson - honorable mention
2000 -- Tim Mickelson - honorable mention
2000 -- Dustin Wayne - honorable mention
2001 -- Anthony Arvidson - 1st team
2002 -- David Yarnes - honorable mention
2003 -- Michael Jurgensen - honorable mention
2003 -- Cameron MacKenzie - honorable mention
2007 -- James Allenby - honorable mention
2008 -- James Allenby - 1st team
2009 -- Paul Peterson - 2nd team
2009 -- Diego Velasquez - honorable mention
2010 -- Diego Velasquez - 1st team
2010 -- Mike Barry - 2nd team
2011 -- Alex Moore - 1st team
2013 -- David Fink - 2nd team
2014 -- David Fink - 2nd team