Maxwell, Toulemonde Named to Academic First Team

Photo By: Dave Nishitani/Oregon State Athletics   04-18-2014

Related Links

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Redshirt-freshman Gabby Maxwell and sophomore Constance Toulemonde have both been named to the Pac-12 Women’s Swimming All-Academic First Team. Senior Aya Fujimura and redshirt-junior Korina Steinbergs also received recognition as Pac-12 All-Academic Honorable Mentions.

Maxwell set a trio of season-best times at the Las Vegas Invitational in the fall, recording a mark of 25.37 in the 50 freestyle, and times of 55.01 and 2:00.58 in the 100 freestyle and 200 freestyle, respectively. She currently holds a 3.86 GPA as an Exercise and Sports Science major.

Toulemonde took 31st in the 100 butterfly on the second day of the Pac-12 Championships, after finishing 50th in the 50 freestyle to start off the competition. She holds a 3.95 GPA as a Pre-Business major.

Fujimura wrapped up her collegiate career with a 22nd-place finish in the 200 butterfly at the Pac-12 Championships. Steinbergs recorded season-best times of 24.17 in the 50 freestyle and 53.42 in the 100 freestyle at the conference championships.

Maxwell, Toulemonde and Steinbergs were joined by Maranda Alf-Huynh, Erica Brannon, Jesikah Cavanaugh, Chelsea Chan, Taylor Frank, Brooke Meyer, Kelsey Yates and Andrea Young as recipients of Oregon State Everyday Champion Academic Achievement Awards last week.