Toney Chay

Beavs Look for Third Consecutive Pac-12 Title

Photo By: Dave Nishitani/Oregon State Athletics   02-28-2014

Follow Oregon State Wrestlling on: Twitter | Facebook

Corvallis, Ore. – The No. 17 Oregon State wrestling team travels to Palo Alto to compete in the Pac-12 Wrestling Championships on Sunday.

The Beavers finished the regular season with a steady 11-7 dual record. After going 2-1 at the National Duals, defeating No. 20 North Dakota State and No. 18 Illinois, the Beavs are looking to extend their success into the tournament.

Oregon State wrestlers are no strangers to the Pac-12 Tournament, having claimed the last two consecutive championships, giving them back-to-back Pac-12 titles. Within those two conference titles, the Beavs have also seen seven individual champions, including returners Scott Sakaguchi (149), RJ Pena (157), and Taylor Meeks (197). Pena and Meeks collected their Pac-12 crowns in the 2011-12 season, while Meeks earned his title in 2012-13.

In order to ensure an automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament, a wrestler must win his weight class at Pac-12’s. Each conference across the country receives a certain amount of allocations per weight class, the Pac-12 earning 17 this year. The conference allocations are as follows:

Atlantic Coast Conference: 34
Big 12 Conference: 24
Big Ten Conference: 74
Eastern Collegiate Wrestling Association: 47
Eastern Wrestling League: 22
Mid-American Conference: 41
Pac-12 Conference: 17
Southern Conference: 16
West Regional: 15

Furthermore, each weight class is then broken down and given a particular amount of tournament seeds. The Pac-12 weight class distributions are as follows:

125: 1
133: 3
141: 1
149: 1
157: 1
165: 1
174: 3
184: 2
197: 2
285: 2

Meaning, that in five out of ten weight classes a wrestler will to need to win the Pac-12 Tournament to earn an automatic berth.

After the original seeds are determined, the NCAA D1 Wrestling Committee will meet to select the remaining 40 at-large bids, which will be announced March 12. These at-large bids are determined based on head-to-head competition, qualifying event placement, quality wins, results against common opponents, winning percentage, RPI, coaches ranking, and the number of matches contested at that weight class.

But first, the Beavers need to focus on their individual matchups at the Pac-12 Tournament, taking it one dual at a time. After all, that is the easiest and only sure fire way to earn an automatic berth to NCAA’s.

After altering the starting lineup towards the end of the regular season, Oregon State Head Coach Jim Zalesky seems to have found his core group of guys. Oregon State’s projected lineup:

(Ranking: The Open Mat/InterMat)
125: Pat Rollins
133: Joey Palmer
141: Joey Delgado
149: No. 9/12 Scott Sakaguchi
157: No. 9/11 RJ Pena
165: Toney Chay
174: Joe Latham
184: Austin Morehead
197: No. 10/9 Taylor Meeks
285: No. 19/17 Amarveer Dhesi

The Pac-12 Tournament takes place this Sunday at Stanford. Session one begins at 10:30 a.m., followed by session two at 3:30 p.m. and the finals at 5 p.m. The tournament concludes with team and individual awards at 7 p.m. Session one and session two will be available to watch via live video streams at each mat:

Mat 1 -
Mat 2 -
Mat 3 -

The finals will air live on the Pac-12 Networks at 5 p.m. Updates and final results will also be available at and