Former Wrestling Coach Joe Wells

Wells and Sather to be Inducted into Hall of Fame

Photo By: Oregon State Athletics   02-27-2014

Related Links

Follow Oregon State Wrestlling on: Twitter | Facebook

Corvallis, Ore. – Former Oregon State head coach Joe Wells and wrestler Ron Sather are to be inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame by the Oregon chapter on May 3.

Both Wells and Sather are among six of the Corvallis area to be inducted come spring time, and carry special ties to Oregon State.

Wells, a former University of Iowa wrestler, went on to coach at the University of Michigan, and was named the NCAA Assistant Coach of the Year. In 1992, he became Oregon State’s head wrestling coach and continued until 2006 when current head coach Jim Zalesky took over.

In 1994, Coach Wells helped the Beavs to a Pac-10 Conference Championship, and in 1995 took the Beavers to the NCAA tournament where they finished second place. In his 14 seasons, Wells tallied a 161-94-3 dual record, giving him the second-most wins as an Oregon State coach, behind Dale Thomas.

To add to his resume, Wells also helped coach the 1988 and 1992 U.S. Olympic wrestling team, also becoming the head coach of the U.S. team at the 1990 Freestyle Championships.

Sather, a state placer for the Corvallis Spartans, eventually went on to wrestle at Oregon State. He placed twice at the Pacific-8 Tournament for the Beavers during his four-year stint, also placing second at the 1973 U.S. National Invitational Freestyle Championships.

In 1972, Sather tied Greg Strobel with the highest winning percentage of the team with .926, going 31-2-1 in dual matches that season, placing him 30th on OSU’s all-time Individual Season Winning Percentage list.

After graduation, Sather took an assistant coaching job at Corvallis High School, while also coaching the Spartans. In his 23 years as the Spartans’ head coach, he has taught five individual state champions and 21 state placers.

The four others to be inducted into the Hall of Fame are former State Senator Frank Morse, and longtime coaches Dick Bellock (Salem), Doug Hislop (Imbler and LaGrande), and Wayne Snoderly (Portland). The banquet honoring the inductees will be held May 3 at 6 p.m. in the Tigard Embassy Suites Hotel. At 4 p.m., there will also be a social to honor all of Oregon’s National Champions and Hall of Fame inductees.

For more information, check out the article in the Gazette Times: