MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here
 
Michael Conforto
Courtesy: Oregon State Athletics 
Michael Conforto Named Pac-12 Player Of The Week
Courtesy: Athletic Communications
Release: 02/18/2014
Send Mail
Share |

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Michael Conforto was named the Pac-12 Conference’s Player of the Week, it was announced by commissioner Larry Scott on Tuesday.

Conforto paced the Beavers to a 4-0 record in Tempe last weekend, and batted 7-for-14 with two doubles, a triple and a Pac-12 leading 11 runs batted in. However, Monday’s three-RBI effort does not count toward the honor – and will count toward next week’s voting should he be nominated. Erase Monday’s game against Pacific and Conforto went 5-for-9 with two doubles and eight RBI in the first three games.

It’s the third Pac-12 weekly honor of Conforto’s career as he was selected on March 5 and March 19 of last season. He is the first Oregon State player to earn the honor in the month of February since Corrie Wilkie was named the Pac-10 North Player of the Week on Feb. 17, 1998.

The Beavers remain ranked in the top five of all major polls, and moved into the No. 1 spot by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association. OSU went 4-0 in Tempe, out-scoring opponents by a 40-16 margin.

The Beavers return to the Phoenix area next weekend for four games in Surprise. OSU takes on Nebraska Friday at 12 p.m. PT (1 p.m. in Arizona) to open the tournament. Follow the game via the Beaver Sports Network and fans can also visit osubeavers.com for free live audio and live stats.

Note, Sunday’s game against Indiana has been moved to a 10 a.m. PT (11 a.m. in Arizona) start.

For more information on the Oregon State baseball team, follow the club’s official Twitter account at Twitter.com/Beaver_Baseball or by Facebook at Facebook.com/OregonStateBaseball.

> Oregon State Baseball
Bottom right Ad 1
Bottom Right Ad 2
Hip-Hip Hooray Beaver Authentics