RJ Pena

National Duals Day 2: Beavs Grab Two Wins

Photo By: Dave Nishitani/Oregon State Athletics   02-17-2014

Related Links

Follow Oregon State Wrestlling on: Twitter | Facebook

Columbus, Ohio – The No. 25 Oregon State wrestling team defeated the No. 20 North Dakota State 23-14 on Monday morning in the second round of consolation matches at the National Duals.

After falling to No. 16 Virginia Tech Sunday, the Beavers received a bye into the second round of consolations, matching them up against North Dakota State, who beat No. 19 Chattanooga, but fell to No. 1 Minnesota.

The Bison claimed the first three points of the match as Hunter Weber topped Oregon State’s Pat Rollins (125) by a 6-0 decision. The Beavers bounced back, though, and took the next four bouts.

At 133, Oregon State’s Joey Palmer pinned Justin LaValle in 4:37, giving the Beavs a 6-3 lead. His performance was followed by a 3-0 decision victory for Joey Delgado (141) over North Dakota State’s Clayton Cathey.

Scott Sakaguchi and RJ Pena kept things rolling for the Beavs. Sakaguchi  (149) defeated North Dakota State’s Tyler Diamond by an 8-2 decision, while Pena (157) tallied an 11-1 major decision over Nicholas Olejnik, giving the Beavers a 16-3 lead.

The Bison collected the next 11 points of the match as Steven Monk earned a 16-1 technical fall over Oregon State’s Toney Chay (165), and Hayden Zillmer topped Joe Latham (174) by a 4-3 decision, cutting the Beavers’ lead to five. Then, at 184, North Dakota State’s Kurtis Julson tallied a 5-3 decision over Austin Morehead, bringing the score to 16-14.

Oregon State’s Taylor Meeks (197) turned things around for the Beavs, earning a 20-8 major decision over Tyler Lehmann, giving the Beavs a 20-14 lead heading into the final bout. At HWT, Amarveer Dhesi finished it off for Oregon State, earning a 3-2 decision over Evan Knutson, finalizing the score at 23-14.

The Beavers turned right around to face No. 18 Illinois, who had previously lost to Central Michigan and defeated Kent State.

The Fighting Illini took 125 as Jesse Delgado pinned Pat Rollins in 3:00, giving them an early six point lead.  Moving into 133, the Beavers got back on track as Joey Palmer defeated Illinois’ Zane Richards by a 10-4 decision. Joey Delgado (141) then claimed a 4-1 decision over Steven Rodrigues, tying the teams at six.

Oregon State’s Scott Sakaguchi (149) continued to streak for the Beavs, earning a 2-1 decision over John Fahy. Moving into 157, RJ Pena tallied a 6-1 decision over Illinois’ Zach Brunson, giving the Beavs a 12-6 lead.

Moving into 165, Illinois’ Jackson Morse collected a 10-2 major decision over Toney Chay, cutting the Beaver’s lead to two. Oregon State’s Joe Latham then earned a 10-3 decision over Tony Dallago, extending the lead to five heading into the last three bouts.

At 184, Illinois’ Lazarus Reyes topped Austin Morehead by a 9-1 major decision, bringing the Illini within one. Oregon State’s Taylor Meeks (197) grabbed the last win for the Beavs, earning a 5-2 decision over Jeffrey Koepke, giving the Beavers a 4 point lead going into the final bout. The Illini grabbed the last win as Chris Lopez earned a 7-1 decision over Amarveer Dhesi (HWT), but it wasn’t enough to overtake the Beavs, finalizing the score at 18-17.

The Beavers next take the mat at the Pac-12 Tournament on March 2.

No. 25 Oregon State 23, No. 20 North Dakota State 14
125: Hunter Weber decision Pat Rollins, 6-0 (OSU 0, NDSU 3)
133: Joey Palmer fall Justin LaValle, 4:37 (OSU 6, NDSU 3)
141: Joey Delgado decision Clayton Cathey, 3-0 (OSU 9, NDSU 3)
149: Scott Sakaguchi decision Tyler Diamond, 8-2 (OSU 12, NDSU 3)
157: RJ Pena major decision Nicholas Olejnik, 11-1 (OSU 16, NDSU 3)
165: Steven Monk tech fall Toney Chay, 16-1 (OSU 16, NDSU 8)
174: Hayden Zillmer decision Joe Latham, 4-3 (OSU 16, NDSU 11)
184: Kurtis Julson decision Austin Morehead, 5-3 (OSU 16, NDSU 14)
197: Taylor Meeks major decision Tyler Lehmann, 20-8 (OSU 20, NDSU 14)
HWT: Amarveer Dhesi decision Evan Knutson, 3-2 (OSU 23, NDSU 14)

No. 25 Oregon State 18, No. 18 Illinois 17
125: Jesse Delgado fall Pat Rollins, 3:00 (OSU 0, ILL 6)
133: Palmer decision Zane Richards, 10-4 (OSU 3, ILL 6)
141: Joey Delgado decision Steven Rodrigues, 4-1 (OSU 6, ILL 6)
149: Scott Sakaguchi decision John Fahy, 2-1 (OSU 9, ILL 6)
157: RJ Pena decision Zach Brunson, 6-1 (OSU 12, ILL 6)
165: Jackson Morse major decision Toney Chay, 10-2 (OSU 12, ILL 10)
174: Joe Latham decision Tony Dallago, 10-3 (OSU 15, ILL 10)
184: Lazarus Reyes major decision Austin Morehead, 9-1 (OSU 15, ILL 14)
197: Taylor Meeks decision Jeffrey Koepke, 5-2 (OSU 18, ILL 14)
HWT: Chris Lopez decision Amarveer Dhesi, 7-1 (OSU 18, ILL 17)