Taylor Meeks

No. 25 OSU Falls to No. 16 Virginia Tech 18-16

Photo By: Scobel Wiggins/Oregon State Athletics   02-16-2014

Related Links

Follow Oregon State Wrestlling on: Twitter | Facebook

Columbus, Ohio – The No. 25 Oregon State wrestling team fell to No. 16 Virginia Tech 18-16 in the preliminary round of the National Duals on Sunday afternoon.

Virginia Tech started the match off with a bang, claiming the first four bouts of the day. At 125, Joey Dance pinned Oregon State’s Pat Rollins in 5:38, tallying six points for the Hokies. Then, at 133, Dennis Gustafson earned a 6-4 decision over Drew Van Anrooy, while Erik Spjut claimed a 4-3 decision over Joey Delgado (141), bringing the score to 12-0.

At 149, Virginia Tech’s Zach Neibert tallied a 10-6 decision over Scott Sakaguchi, giving the Hokies a 15 point lead.

Oregon State’s RJ Pena (157) got the Beavers on the board with a 10-7 decision over Sal Mastriani. Toney Chay and Joe Latham followed up that performance with wins of their own. Chay (165) collected a 2-1 decision over Virginia Tech’s Chris Moon, while Latham (174) earned a 7-4 decision over John Dickson, cutting the deficit to just six.

The Hokies claimed 184 as Nick Vetterlein tallied a 9-8 decision over Austin Morehead, bringing the score to 18-9.

Oregon State’s Taylor Meeks (197) collected four points for the Beavs with a 15-1 major decision over Chris Penny, bringing the Beavers within 5 going into the final bout. Amarveer Dhesi (HWT) earned a 6-3 decision over Ty Walz, but it wasn’t enough to overtake Virginia Tech, finalizing the score at 18-16.

The Beavers are scheduled to wrestle in a consolation match tomorrow at 8 a.m. Pacific Time. Their opponent has yet to be determined. Track live results at www.Trackwrestling.com and follow updates at Twitter.com/OSU_Wrestling.


Oregon State 16, Virginia Tech 18
125 – Joey Dance fall Pat Rollins, 5:38 (OSU 0, VT 6)
133 – Dennis Gustafson decision Drew Van Anrooy, 6-4 (OSU 0, VT 9)
141 – Erik Spjut decision Joey Delgado, 4-3 (OSU 0, VT 12)
149 – Zach Neibert decision Scott Sakaguchi, 10-6 (OSU 0, VT 15)
157 – RJ Pena decision Sal Mastriani, 10-7 (OSU 3, VT 15)
165 – Toney Chay decision Chris Moon,  2-1 (OSU 6, VT 15)
174 – Joe Latham decision John Dickson, 7-4 (OSU 9, VT 15)
184 – Nick Vetterlein decision Austin Morehead, 9-8 (OSU 9, VT 18)
197 – Taylor Meeks major decision Chris Penny, 15-1 (OSU 13, VT 18)
285 – Amarveer Dhesi decision Ty Walz, 6-3 (OSU 16, VT)