RJ Pena

No. 25 OSU Heads to National Duals

Photo By: Dave Nishitani/Oregon State Athletics   02-12-2014

Related Links

Follow Oregon State Wrestlling on: Twitter | Facebook

Corvallis, Ore. – The No. 25 Oregon State wrestling team is set to face off against No. 16 Virginia Tech in the first round of the National Duals, as released the National Wrestling Coaches Association on Tuesday.

The event is set to take place Feb. 16-17 at St. John Arena in Columbus, Ohio, and will feature 14 DI wrestling programs, 10 of which are ranked. Each team was seeded and matched up based on rankings, conference association, and difficulty of schedule.

Oregon State (9-6) is first seeded against Virginia Tech (15-3). These two teams last went head-to-head in 2013, and the Hokies claimed a 20-15 victory on the road. The Beavs are 0-2-0 all-time against Virginia Tech, the first match dating back to 2008.

The Beavers find their usual four wrestlers in this week’s rankings, and will be travelling all four to the duals: No. 11 Scott Sakaguchi (149), No. 8 RJ Pena (157), No. 11 Taylor Meeks (197), and No. 14 Amarveer Dhesi (HWT) (Rankings: The Open Mat).

Virginia Tech finds five athletes ranked as well, and will be travelling all five to the duals: No. 20 Joey Dance (125), No. 17 Zach Neibert (149), No. 18 Chris Moon (165), No. 18 Nick Vetterlein (184), and No. 16 Ty Walz (HWT) (Rankings: The Open Mat). With several potential ranked matchups, the Beavers will be looking to start out strong and tally the first win.

Live stats and results will be available at www.Trackwrestling.com. Updates and final results can be found at Twitter.com/OSU_Wrestling and www.osubeavers.com.

OSU’s Travel Squad:
Pat Rollins
Joey Palmer
Drew Van Anrooy
Joey Delgado
Scott Sakaguchi
Jared Reis
RJ Pena
Toney Chay
Alex Elder
Joe Latham
Austin Morehead
Brian Engdahl
Taylor Meeks
Zach Cardwell
Amarveer Dhesi

Draws (USA Today/NWCA Coaches Poll ranking noted)
#1 Minnesota first-round bye
#19 Chattanooga vs. #20 North Dakota State
#17 Iowa State vs. Kent State
#13 Ohio State vs. Hofstra
#10 Oklahoma vs. Bloomsburg
#18 Illinois vs. Central Michigan
#16 Virginia Tech vs. #25 Oregon State
#4 Cornell first-round bye

Sunday, February 16
Preliminaries – 1 p.m., 3 p.m.
Consolations – 5 p.m.
Quarterfinals – 7 p.m.

Monday, February 17
Semifinals & Consolations – 1 p.m.
Finals & Third Place – 4 p.m.