RJ Pena

Beavers Cruise Past Bakersfield 25-10

Photo By: Scobel Wiggins/Oregon State Athletics   01-12-2014

Related Links

Follow Oregon State Wrestlling on: Twitter | Facebook

Bakersfield, Calif. – The Oregon State wrestling team claimed its second Pac-12 win of the season defeating CSU Bakersfield 25-10 on Sunday afternoon.

After topping the Stanford Cardinal Saturday night, the Beavers kept the ball rolling through Sunday, advancing them to 6-3 on the season.

The Runners earned the first four points of the match as Ian Nickell defeated Joey Delgado (141) 9-0. However, seniors Scott Sakaguchi (149) and RJ Pena (157) got the Beavs back on track once again. Sakaguchi claimed a 12-2 major decision over Bakersfield’s Dalton Kelly, while Pena matched that performance with a 14-1 major decision over Spencer Hill, giving Oregon State an 8-4 lead.

Bakersfield found their way into the scoring column in the 165 lb. match as David Meza downed Oregon State’s Toney Chay 3-2, bringing the Runners within one.

The Beavers responded by winning the next five bouts to clutch the victory. Joe Latham (174) started things off by recording a 12-3 major decision over Jesus Ambriz, giving the Beavers a solid five point lead. Austin Morehead (184) followed in kind, tallying a 16-2 major decision over Sean Pollock.

Taylor Meeks (197) earned a 7-3 decision over Bakersfield’s Ruben Franklin, moving the score to 19-7. Amarveer Dhesi (HWT) then recorded a 3-1 decision over Sam Cervantes, extending the Beaver’s lead to 15.

Moving to the 125 match, Joey Palmer tallied a 6-4 decision victory over Sergio Mendez, heading into the last bout of the day. Bakersfield’s Jose Mendoza would claim a 5-4 decision over Drew Van Anrooy (133), but it wouldn’t be enough to overtake the Beavers, as Oregon State cruised to a 25-10 victory over the Runners.

The Beavers finished their first conference road trip undefeated, collecting their first two Pac-12 wins of the season. Oregon State returns home next weekend and will host the next four dual matches in Gill Coliseum.

141: Ian Nickell major decision Joey Delgado, 9-0 (OSU 0, CSUB 4)
149: Scott Sakaguchi major decision Dalton Kelly, 12-2 (OSU 4, CSUB 4)
157: RJ Pena major decision Spencer Hill, 14-1 (OSU 8, CSUB 4)
165: David Meza decision Toney Chay, 3-2 (OSU 8, CSUB 7)
174: Joe Latham major decision Jesus Ambriz, 12-3 (OSU 12, CSUB 7)
184: Austin Morehead major decision Sean Pollock, 16-2 (OSU 16, CSUB 7)
197: Taylor Meeks decision Ruben Franklin, 7-3 (OSU 19, CSUB 7)
HWT: Amarveer Dhesi decision Sam Cervantes, 3-1 (OSU 22, CSUB 7)
125: Joey Palmer decision Sergio Mendez, 6-4 (OSU 25, CSUB 7)
133: Jose Mendoza decision Drew Van Anrooy, 5-4 (OSU 25, CSUB 10)