RJ Pena

No. 22/24 OSU Set for No. 36 Wyoming Friday

Photo By: Scobel Wiggins/Oregon State Athletics   12-18-2013

Follow Oregon State Wrestlling on: Twitter | Facebook

Corvallis, Ore. – The No. 22/24 Oregon State wrestling team hosts No. 36 Wyoming Friday after a two week hiatus from competition.

This will be the 27th meeting between the two squads, the first match dating back to 1960. Oregon State is 19-7-0 all-time against Wyoming in the previous 26 matchups.

The Beavers (3-3) and the Cowboys (1-2) last went head to head in 2012, and Oregon State claimed a 21-12 victory on the road. Four returners from last year’s squad tallied wins for the Beavers, including Drew Van Anrooy (133), Scott Sakaguchi (149), RJ Pena (157), and Alex Elder (165).

This year, the Beavs are looking to extend their all-time win record against the Cowboys, as well as find some positive momentum as they roll into the latter half of the season. Both Oregon State and Wyoming are coming off tough losses in each of their last duals, and won’t go down without a fight.

Heading into Friday, Oregon State continues to find four of its wrestlers amongst the rankings. This week, Senior Scott Sakaguchi (149) was ranked No. 10/12 by InterMat/The Open Mat after his performance at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invite. Senior RJ Pena (157) has also remained steady, ranking No. 8/13 in his weight class.

Junior Taylor Meeks (197) continues to sit amongst the top of his weight class, ranking No. 5/6 this week. Freshman Amarveer Dhesi rounds it out for the Beavers and is ranked No.17/18 by InterMat/The Open Mat.

Wyoming will also feature a ranked wrestler this weekend, Tyler Cox (125). This week, Cox was ranked No. 8/10 by InterMat/The Open Mat, and will likely face Oregon State’s Pat Rollins on Friday.

Oregon State is set to take on Wyoming Friday at 7 p.m. in Gill Coliseum. Match updates and results can be found at www.trackwrestling.com, as well as at www.osubeavers.com.

Probable Lineups:
125: Pat Rollins (3-6)
133: Drew Van Anrooy (5-7)
141: Joey Delgado (8-5)
149: Scott Sakaguchi (8-5)
157: RJ Pena (15-2)
165: Alex Elder (10-3)
174: Joe Latham (9-5)
184: Brian Engdahl (2-5)
197: Taylor Meeks (14-3)
HWT: Amarveer Dhesi (7-3)

125: No. 8 Tyler Cox (14-3)
133: Drew Templeman (4-6)
141: Cole Mendenhall (11-4)
149: Brandon Richardson (11-6)
157: Andy McCulley (11-4)
165: Dakota Friesth (12-4)
174: Brent Havlik (11-4)
184: Benjamin Stroh (11-5)
197: Shane Woods (11-3)
285: Leland Pfeifer (5-7)