Storm Woods is on the 2013 Doak Walker Award Watch List

Storm Woods Named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

Photo By: Hannah O'Leary/Oregon State Athletics   07-19-2013

Related Links

Follow OSUBeaversFB on Twitter

DALLAS, Texas – Oregon State sophomore tailback Storm Woods was named as a preseason candidate for the 2013 Doak Walker Award when the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced recently. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.

As a redshirt freshman in 2012, Woods seized the starting tailback position in fall camp and started all 12 games in which he played. The “do-it-all” back rushed for 940 yards and 13 touchdowns and added 38 receptions. Woods rushed for 118 yards and a pair of touchdowns to cap the season at the Valero Alamo Bowl. His breakout game came at Arizona when he ran for 161 yards and a touchdown. He also posted a three-score outing against Utah.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on November 14, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 25. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on December 2 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives. Nominations for the award will be accepted through October.

The recipient of the 2013 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas, Texas, in February 2013.

The award, in its 24th year, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

The Beavers return to the practice field in preparation for the 2013 season Mon., Aug. 5 for the start of camp. OSU opens the year at Reser Stadium against Eastern Washington, Sat., Aug. 31 at 3 p.m. on the Pac-12 Networks. 

For information on the several ticket plans available for the 2013 season, please access or call 1-800-GO-Beavs during business hours.

Beaver Preseason Watch Lists (as of July 19)

Brandin Cooks, Jr., WR – Maxwell Award (top player), Biletnikoff Award (top receiver)

Scott Crichton, Jr., DE – Bronko Nagurski Award (top defender), Bednarik Award (top defender), Lott Trophy (top defender)

Keith Kostol, Jr., P – Ray Guy Award (top punter)

Rashaad Reynolds, Sr., CB – Jim Thorpe Award (top defensive back)

Trevor Romaine, Jr., PK – Groza Award (top kicker)

Isaac Seumalo, So., C – Rimington Award (top center), Outland Award (top interior lineman)

Storm Woods, So. RB – Doak Walker Award (top running back)